FACEBOOK MINIMUM SECURITY SETTINGS

//FACEBOOK MINIMUM SECURITY SETTINGS

FACEBOOK MINIMUM SECURITY SETTINGS

Cyber Champs Logo

TE HIGH RES LOGO (2)

GENERAL

Outlined below are the minimum recommended security settings which should be applied to a Facebook account, without adversely affecting the functionality of the account.

STEP 1

Log into Facebook.

STEP 2

Click on the Settings icon (Step 2.1) and select Privacy Settings option (Step 2.2).

step2

 

STEP 3

The Privacy Settings and Tools screen will now be displayed.  From this screen you will be able to change your minimum security settings utilising the hyperlinks along the right hand side of the page (Step 3.1).

step3

 

STEP 4

In the Who can see my stuff? section, go to Who can see your future posts?, and click on Edit  (Step 3.1).  The window will expand and display the following:

step4

 

Click the drop down menu.  The minimum security setting for this option is Friends (Step 4.1).  Select Close (Step 4.2).

STEP 5

In the Who can see my stuff? section, go to Limit the audience for post you’ve shared with friends of friends or Public?  and click on Limit Past Posts  (Step 3.1).  The window will expand.  Select Limit Old Posts (Step 5.1).  

step5

 

The Are You Sure You Want to Proceed?  dialogue warning box will be displayed.  If you select Confirm (Step 5.2), all past posts that are associated to people outside of your friends list, including tagged photos, will be removed from their wall and profiles.  These posts will not be removed from your friend’s profiles and will still be visible in accordance with your privacy settings.

step5.2

 

Once you click Confirm, the Audience Change Complete screen will be displayed.  All previous public posts will now have been removed from non-friends timelines; this also includes any photos that have been tagged.  Select Close (Step 5.3).

step5.3

 

STEP 6

In the Who can contact me? section, go to Who can send you friend requests? and click on Edit (Step 3.1).  This is a personal choice; select either Friends of Friends or Everyone (Step 6.1). Select Close (Step 6.2).

step6

 

STEP 7

In the Who can contact me? section, go to Whose messages do I want filtered into my Inbox and click on Edit (Step 3.1).  Select Strict Filtering (Step 7.1). Select Close (Step 7.2).

step7

 

STEP 8

In the Who can look you up? section, go to Who can look you up using the email address or phone number you provide? and click on Edit (Step 3.1). The options available are: Everyone, Friends of Friends and Friends.  This option is purely for people outside of your friends list to search for you to add you as a friend.  Select Friends (Step 8.1).  Then select Close (Step 8.2).

step8

 

STEP 9

In the Who can look you up? section, go to Do you want search engines to link to your Timeline? And click on Edit (Step 3.1).  This option allows people to search for your profile from outside Facebook itself, utilising a common search engine such as Google or Yahoo. Unselect Let other search engines link to your Timeline (Step 9.1).

step9

 

At the Are you sure? dialogue box, select Confirm (Step 9.2).  Your profile will be limited to Facebook only searches and will eventually be removed from public search engines.

step9.2

 

STEP 10

At the screen below, select Timeline and Tagging options (Step 10.1). From this screen you will be able to change your minimum security settings utilising the hyperlinks along the right hand side of the page (Step 10.2).

step10

 

STEP 11

In the Who can add things to my timeline? section, go to Who can post on your timeline? and click on Edit (Step 10.2).  Select Only Me for enhanced security (Step 11.1), selecting Friends will allow them to post on your timeline if so desired.  People from outside of your friends list will not be able to post directly onto your timeline.  Select Close (Step 11.2).

step11

 

STEP 12

In the Who can add things to my timeline? section, go to Review posts your friends tag you in before they appear on your timeline? section and click on Edit (Step 10.2).  Select Enabled (Step 12.1). This option allows you to review anything posted onto your timeline before it is displayed, this includes posts from friends as well as pictures and tagged photos.  You can also enable a review of your current Timeline, by selecting the hyperlink if so desired (Step 12.2).  Once all completed, select Close (Step 12.3).

step12

 

STEP 13

In the Who can see things in my timeline? section, go to Review what other people see  on your timeline? and click on View As (Step 10.2).  Your timeline will appear.  Conduct a review of timeline activities you wish to share (Step 13).

step13

 

STEP 14

In the Who can see things in my timeline? section, go to Who can see posts you have been tagged in on your timeline? section and click Edit (Step 10.2).  This option determines how people from outside of your friends list see posts you have been tagged in when they search for your profile.  The minimum required security setting for this option is Friends (Step 14.1), this allows only people you have added to your friends list to view your tagged content. If Only Me is selected, you will be the only individual to see these tagged items.  If this setting is left Everyone, anyone with a Facebook account will be able to see posts that you have been tagged in.  There is also a Custom setting which allows a user to exclude specific friends (and family members).  Select Close (Step 14.2).

step14

 

STEP 15

In the Who can see things in my timeline? section, go to Who can see what others post on your timeline? section and click Edit (Step 10.2).  The minimum required security setting for this option is Friends (Step 15.1). This will allow people within your friends list to see all posts on your timeline that have been added by your friends; people from outside your friends list will not be able to see these posts.  Select Close (Step 15.2).

step15

 

STEP 16

In the How can I manage tags people add and tagging suggestions? section, go to Review tags people add to your own posts before the tags appear on Facebook? section and click Edit (Step 10.2).  Select Enabled (Step 16.1).  This gives control to you over any malicious posts by your friends in which you are tagged in as they can be reviewed and either approved or denied by yourself before they go public.  Be aware that if you approve a tagged photo posted by one of your friends, it may be visible to the public depending on how stringent their profile security is. Select Close (Step 16.2)

step16

 

STEP 17

In the How can I manage tags people add and tagging suggestions? section, go to When you’re tagged in a post, who do you want to add to the audience if they aren’t already in it? section and click Edit (Step 10.2).  Select Friends (Step 17.1).  All your friends will be able to see the post/picture.  The Custom setting gives you more control as it allows you to manually choose who is able to see these tagged posts. Select Close (Step 17.2)

step17

 

ACCOUNT PASSWORD

Use a unique strong and complex password for your Facebook account.  Strong and complex passwords are a minimum of eight characters containing at least one capital letter, one lower case letter, one number and one symbol.  

2017-02-02T18:10:58+00:00 By |0 Comments